Frequently Asked Questions
What is BlockSite?
BlockSite is a browser extension and app for Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox and Android mobile devices. So if you find yourself spending too much time on social media sites, BlockSite can help you increase productivity, focus and prevent procrastination.
Which browsers can I install BlockSite on?
Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox
How do I use BlockSite?
After you download the extension, set up a list of websites you want to block. You can also set up a schedule of time frames for when to block distracting sites.
Can I use BlockSite on mobile?
Yes, you can download our Android app for free from the Google Play Store
Can I sync between mobile and desktop?
You can sync your list of blocked websites between Android mobile devices and the Chrome extension on desktop.
To pair your phone with the extension, open the menu, then Settings, then “Sync BlockSite.” You will then be asked to go to the BlockSite desktop extension and scan the QR code. If you don’t have the extension you’ll need to download it from Google Chrome or Firefox. If you need any help setting up the sync, please email us at email@example.com so we can help!
What is Work Mode?
Work Mode allows you to work for 25 minutes and take a 5 minute break – great for anyone who struggles to keep focused for long periods of time!
What is Whitelist Mode?
Whitelist mode allows you to create a list of sites that are the only sites you can access while Blocksite is on.
Can I protect my BlockSite settings with a password?
Yes. You can add a password to your account (both on desktop and mobile) so that your BlockSite settings can only be changed by you. To enable this, please go to Password Protection.
Can I be notified when BlockSite is uninstalled?
Yes, BlockSite can send you an email to alert you when the desktop extension is uninstalled. To enable this, please go to Password Protection in the desktop extension Settings page.
How does collecting website data improve the BlockSite experience?
The adult site blocking feature requires us access to information on the sites you visit in order to detect and block adult sites automatically. Please note that we do not share this data with any third parties for the purposes of marketing or targeting individual users.
What data is BlockSite collecting?
Can I opt out of sharing data with BlockSite?
Yes. By deselecting the checkbox next to the words “Block Adult Sites” which can be found under the Settings tab of the Options page for the Block Site extension. For the mobile app: By selecting the checkbox next to the words “Opt Out” which can be found in the About screen of the application. Note that once you opt out, some of the Services provided by Block Site will no longer be available.